Sotomayor and Affirmative Action: I’m Still Angry After All These Years

I feel a special anger over the Sotomayor nomination as one of the folks who spent 10 years living in poverty preparing for an academic career only to be told at the end of the process…”oops, you’re White.”

Sotomayor (and both Obamas) were among those who thought it was a smart idea to harm guys like me by providing preferential treatment to minorities in the education field. As a poor Armenian-American, no one seemed to care that I grew up poor of that I was the first on my mother’s side of the family to even graduate from college. Instead, the wealthy children of other races would be advantaged over me for political reasons.

As one of their not-so-silent victims, I can assure you that my outrage and anger over this injustice has not gone away. Moreover, they have reduced the respect and authority of our national institutions by making it clear that merit is no longer the top priority in various hiring decisions.

I want to urge everyone who understands the importance of justice to a peaceful society to express their outrage over Sotomayor’s cruelty and her blatant racist remarks.

One Response to “Sotomayor and Affirmative Action: I’m Still Angry After All These Years”

  1. Crosslin@yahoo.com Says:

    umm… I am not

Leave a comment